The night before

‘Twas night before the triathlon, and all through the hotel not a single thing was stirring, not even in hell.

The tri bag was packed by the bed with care. In hopes that we would wake up to do our hair.

The tri team was nestled all snug in their beds, while visions of shot blocs danced in their heads;

and George in his kerchief, and I in my cap,
we had just settled down for a short night before tri nap,

When out on the water there rose such a clatter, I sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.

Away from the window I flew like a flash,

Tore open the shutters and and threw up the sash.

The moon on the breast of the 5 foot waves
Gave the luster of mid-day to the objects on the pave,

When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But a lightweight tri bike, and with a guy holding a beer.

With a little old driver so lively and quick.
I new in the moment that it must be a trick.

“why it is not time!” I called to him below,
And he replied, “what, you didn’t know???
They had changed the time, it is right now”
Then I freaked out like a 2,000 pound cow.

I jumped out of bed, and threw on my clothes,
I couldn’t believe that I had to go.
Then all of a sudden, I started to fall
and then woke up, from a phone call.

“why it was only a dream!” I chanted out loud,
My brain felt like it was a cloud.
For I still had plenty of time,
and I knew that the medal would soon be mine.

So I fell back to sleep all sound in my bed;
my head fell on the pillow like it was made of lead.

I was ready for my tri as much as I could be
which made me full of glee.

With my eyes closed and my smile a gleam,
all I could think was, GO TEAM!!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Araceli Venegas on October 13, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Kristen,
    I hope your tri was exciting and that you did well int he running part.
    I’m dying to see pictures of your race. Congratulations!!!!

    Araceli

    Reply

  2. […] also took a picture of me writing my pre-race blog, you can see where I got my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

