Marin Century Race Report

I rode 100 miles on my bike and all I got was this stupid water bottle:

This race report is a tad late, but better late than never!

George and I signed up to do a century and a week before the race we were completely unprepared. I hadn’t done a ride over 2 1/2 hours and I wasn’t really sure if this was going to happen. But the hotel room was booked and we were going to make the best of it. So the week before I put together a little training plan, went something like…ride Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday…HARD. Rest Thursday and Friday, and test myself on Saturday.

On Friday, George and I loaded up the car and headed up to Marin. We took the long way along the coast, and while it was a beautiful drive…it took ALL day and we will probably never do it again. Few pics from the drive:

Before we got into Marin, we made a quick stop at Sports Basement at Crissy Field in San Francisco. This place is like the athletes DREAM store and I envy all those NorCal people that get to go to it on a regular basis! The place is HUGE and has EVERYTHING. On top of that, they have some great deals and everything is really well organized. We cruised around there for a while, got a couple things then finally got to the hotel.

We were up fairly early on Saturday, and we were off on the ride by 7:30AM. The first leg of the ride to the first stop was absolutely gorgeous. We rode through some redwoods and it was so pretty. On the way back we stopped and took some pictures, more on that later. One thing about this ride is that there were a lot of cows…

This was at the first stop, and it would not be the last time we saw cows.

Our overall strategy for this ride was to keep our heart rate around 150, to lube our areas as much as possible and not kill ourselves. And for the most part…it worked. There was one little bit that had some viscous headwinds, that took the wind out of our sails for a bit but we just kept riding.

Here are some pictures from the ride:

Suckin George's wheel!

Quick side shot of George

Self portrait

Long road ahead of us.

A cow

Me with a cow

This is when we met up with the rest of the team at one of the last rest stops...we were pretty tired at this point.

This is about 90 miles in, we were pretty delirious at this point and just wanted real food.

Me with the redwoods

George and I almost there!

We made it!

Overall, the ride was incredible. It was very well organized and a pretty challenging century. During the ride I never wanted to do another century…but now I kind of want to do another one. My training plan worked pretty well, although for the next century…I think I might try to get some long rides in more than a week before the event.

The next day George and I headed a little south, and we stopped off and had root beer floats:

George looking a little tired.

I’m not a big fan of root beer, and looking at this photo makes me a little sick. But we had to try them and we got some cool beer mugs out of it!

We also spent some time in the city, went into China town for the evening then stayed with a friend for the night. On Monday we loaded up and headed back home. We took the 5 this time and it took us 5-6 hours to get home. I also had my first Chic-fil-a…and my last.

Century ride = done!

One response to this post.

  1. Congratulations on your century. I loved all the pictures you took.

    I haven’t been to the Sports Basement in like 10 years. The last time I was there with my sister and she stepped in this giant pile of dog poop that was in the middle of one of the aisles. She had no interest in going to a sporting goods store in the first place and needless to say, she wasn’t thrilled in the least.

    Now I’m craving an A&W root beer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

